top of page


The complete cycle of Ludwig van Beethoven's Cello+Piano Sonatas,
complemented by new commissions inspired by them 

Celebrating the 250th anniversary of one of the most influential composers, artists, and visionaries who ever lived, Ludwig & Beyond presents the complete cycle of Beethoven's five sonatas for piano and cello, alongside three newly commissioned works (2020). Renowned composers Samy Moussa, Dinuk Wijeratne, and Paul Wianckothe “Beethovens of our time”—each selected one of Beethoven's middle sonatas as the inspiration for their new compositions.


Audiences experience the genius of Beethoven's composition through not only his artistic output, from Op. 5 to 102, but also his mental and physical evolution, from youth to maturity, hearing to deafness, reality to fantasy, as well as his incomparable impact on all the generations following. Heard through the mesmerizing voice of the 1696 Bonjour Stradivarius cello (currently on loan to Bryan from the Canada Council Musical Instrument Bank), this profound journey—courtesy of the great master of the past and the new masters of the present—leads you to discover and re-discover chamber music in its most intimate form! 

This project was brought to life during the COVID-19 pandemic by ardent supporters of our New Music Fund—THANK YOU!


Dasha Shenkman OBE, Hon RCM



Margaret Campbell
Lang Optometry
Ken Stephen

Screen Shot 2017-08-16 at 4.02.12 PM.png
bottom of page